blitshteyn-office (3)

Svetlana Blitshteyn, MD

Dr. Svetlana Blitshteyn is a neurologist specializing in autonomic disorders. She is the Director and Founder of Dysautonomia Clinic, where she provides consultations for patients with POTS, neurocardiogenic syncope, small fiber neuropathy, chronic fatigue syndrome, fibromyalgia, Ehlers-Danlos syndrome, mast cell activation syndrome, chronic migraine and other neurologic conditions. She also serves as a Clinical Assistant Professor of Neurology at the University at Buffalo Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences.

Dr. Blitshteyn completed her neurology training at Mayo Clinic Graduate School of Medicine. She received her Medical Doctor degree from the University at Buffalo School of Medicine where she received numerous awards for academic achievement. She graduated from the University at Buffalo Honors College with a Bachelor of Science in Biochemistry, Summa Cum Laude, where she was the valedictorian of her graduating class.

Svetlana Blitshteyn, MD

Regarded by the medical and patient community as a renowned specialist in autonomic disorders, Dr. Blitshteyn has been an invited speaker at the national and international conferences, including at the World Health Organization. She has been the Principle Research Investigator on important studies concerning women’s health, such as meningioma and hormone replacement therapy, which made national headlines news in Reuters, but her primary research area focuses on the topics of POTS and autoimmunity, vitamin deficiency, pregnancy, vaccination and headache.

Dr. Blitshteyn co-authored a popular patient book, ``POTS - Together We Stand; Riding the Waves of Dysautonomia” and was featured in the documentary, ``Changes: Living with Postural Orthostatic Tachycardia Syndrome.” She was interviewed by numerous media outlets, including US News and World Report, the American Academy of Neurology journal, Medscape, New Scientist and others. She volunteers on the Medical Advisory Board for Dysautonomia International and Dysautonomia Information Network non-profits and is the recipient of the Patient’s Choice Award, Buffalo’s Business First 40 under 40 Award, Florida Society of Neurology Research Award, and the American Headache Society US Human Health Award.

IMG_6496 (2)

Honors and Awards

● Standing up to POTS research grant 2017
● World Health Organization Invited Speaker, December 2016
● 40 Under 40 Business First Award 2014
● Top 10 Doctor (Neurology) in Buffalo 2014
● Dysautonomia International Research Grant 2013
● Invited Guest Speaker, The Neuropathy Association 2013
● Marquis Who's Who in Medicine and Healthcare 2011-2012
● Patient’s Choice Award 2010, 2011
● Most Compassionate Doctor Award 2010, 2011
● Reuters Health Press Release 2008
● American Headache Society US Human Health Award 2007
● The Florida Society of Neurology Research Award 2006
● Top 5% most noteworthy research studies, Society for Neuro-Oncology 2004
● American Academy of Neurology Student Prize 2002
● Rodenberg Memorial Medal and Award for academic excellence in the study of diabetes and its complications 2002
● Dr. Louis Sklarow Award presented to the outstanding graduate of the University at Buffalo School of Medicine 2002

Professional Organizations

● American Academy of Neurology
● American Autonomic Society
● American Headache Society